Your Cart

$0.00 (0 items)

Item Detail

Mercyful Fate - Mercyful Fate (12” LP 45 RPM, Mini-Album, Reissue 180G. Metal Blade “Classic Series.

Mercyful Fate

Mercyful Fate

Format12″ LP 45 RPM, Mini-Album, Reissue 180G. Metal Blade "Classic Series." Classic Heavy Metal from Denmark.
Label Metal Blade Records

Mercyful Fate is a heavy metal band from Copenhagen, Denmark. The band was formed by vocalist King Diamond (2) and guitarist Hank Shermann in 1981. The original MF line-up shared members with another Copenhagen band, Danger Zone, whom Diamond and Shermann were helping out. By 1982, the “classic” Mercyful Fate line up of Diamond, Shermann, guitarist Michael Denner (ex-Brats and Danger Zone), bassist Timi “Grabber” Hansen (Danger Zone), and drummer Kim Ruzz was in place. Over the next couple years, the band would release an EP and 2 LPs that would cement their reputation as one the most influential metal bands of the early 1980s. King Diamond’s blasphemous lyrics and theatrical stage presence would have many label the band as part of the 1st wave of black metal, although musically the band was closer to the style of Judas Priest or Iron Maiden. The group split in 1985, as Shermann decided he wanted to pursue a more commercial direction. King Diamond launched a solo career, taking Denner and Hansen with him, while Kim Ruzz disappeared into the regular world.